01772 743531


Martinfield Road, Penwortham, Preston, PR1 9HJ

Foundation Stage

Kingsfold curriculum design

Key Requirements of our Curriculum

 “Every child deserves the best possible start in life and the support that enables them to fulfil their potential. Children develop quickly in the early years and a child’s experiences between birth and age five have a major impact on their future life chances. A secure, safe and happy childhood is important in its own right. Good parenting and high quality early learning together provide the foundation children need to make the most of their abilities and talents as they grow up.” Original 2012 EYFS Statutory Framework Statutory Framework for the EYFS DfE 2017

The overarching aim of the EYFS is to help young children stay safe, be healthy, enjoy and achieve, make a positive contribution, and achieve economic well-being by providing: · quality and consistency so that every child makes good progress and no child gets left behind;

  • a secure foundation which creates learning and development opportunities that are planned around the interest and needs of the children, informed by regular assessments and reviews;
  • partnership working between practitioners, parents and carers
  • equality of opportunity ensuring that there is no discrimination and every child is included and supported’

The guiding principles which shape our practice are grouped into four distinct but complementary themes:

  1. A Unique Child
  2. Positive Relationships
  3. Enabling Environments
  4. Learning and Development

Our Curriculum

At Kingsfold Primary School we recognise that every child is unique. We understand that children develop in individual ways and at varying rates. We want our children to be independent and self-motivated learners, encouraging the children to adapt their work, think critically and take risks with their learning.

For full coverage of our curriculum please see the long term planning



From our long-term planning, we also break our termly learning into knowledge organisers. These outline the objectives for that term including key vocabulary and life skills to be taught.


The EYFS framework includes seven areas of learning and development, all of which are important and included in the curriculum taught. There are three prime areas, which are seen to underpin all of the basics and support the other more specific areas of the curriculum. 

The Prime Areas of Learning and Development

  1. Personal, Social and Emotional Development: This area focuses on making relationships, self-confidence and self-awareness, and managing feelings and behaviour. This is critical for very young children in all aspects of their lives and gives them the best opportunity for success in all other areas of learning.
  2. Communication and Language: This area encourages developing competence in listening, attention, understanding and speaking.
  3. Physical Development: This area focuses on the child’s developing physical control, moving and handling, and health and self-care.

The Specific Areas of Learning and Development

  1. Literacy: This focuses on comprehension, reading and writing. Children are taught phonics throughout the EYFS.
  2. Mathematics: This area focuses on learning through practical activities and on using numbers and numerical patterns.
  3. Understanding of the World: This area focuses on children’s developing knowledge and understanding of their own environment, through learning about past and present, people, culture and communities and the natural world with technology incorporated across the curriculum. It forms the foundation for later work in Science, Design and Technology, History, RE, Geography and ICT.
  4. Expressive Arts and Design: This area focuses on the development of the child’s imagination and her or his ability to communicate and express ideas and feelings in creative ways. It incorporates exploring and using media and materials. Creativity is fundamental to successful learning.